There were at least 21 official resident keepers at New Point Comfort Light Station. The first keeper appointed by President Thomas Jefferson was the lighthouse's builder, Elzy Burroughs. Retaining ownership of the land bordering the station, Burroughs had built a home for himself and his family on the Point during the stations construction so it was convenient for him to keep the light until the keeper's dwelling was completed. In fact, he continued as keeper for the following decade. New Point Comfort is remarkable in that two keepers there were black. One was an unofficial assistant to Isaac Foster, described in 1852 as a negro woman, probably a slave; the other, a preacher, J. McHenry Farley, who served from 1871 to 1873. Citing the isolation of his post and the difficulty in obtaining supplies, Farley pleaded with the U. S. Light-House Board for an assistant, but no assistant was ever assigned to this station. {

}

## NEW POINT COMFORT LIGHTHOUSE KEEPERS

1805-1814 1814-1815 1815-1819 1819-1830 1830-1846 1846-1854 1854 (Revoked) 1854-1861 1861-1865 1865-1869 1869-1871 1871-1873 1873-1876 1876-1879 1879-1881 1881-1883 1883-1888 1888-1899 1899-1901 1901-1906 1906-1915 or 1916 1916 or 1917-1919 1919-1954

Elzy Burroughs Robert Lithburn James B. H. Johnson William Johnson William R. Brownley Isaac Foster James B. White Edward S. White No Keeper Joseph S. Allen Sylvester H. Wolhiser J. McHenry Farley John D. Hudgins Leonard Smithers A. F. Hudgins William F. Ripley C. W. Forrest Oliver R. Hudgins James B. Hurst Richard W. Marchant Wesley F. Ripley Edward A. Sibley Henry L. Dow